Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

JCPH Academic Calendars 2016 - 2017

On Site and Hybrid Courses

Fall Term (14 Weeks)  
July 29, 2016, Friday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
September 6, Tuesday New Student Orientation
September 6, Tuesday Classes begin
September 20, Tuesday Add/Drop Period ends 
October 14, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
October 27, Thursday On-line Registration for Spring Semester begins (anticipated) 
November 23, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holidays begin / No classes scheduled 
November 28, Monday Thanksgiving Holidays end / Classes resume
December 10, Saturday Classes end 
December 16, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m. 
December 20, Tuesday On-Line Registration for Spring Semester ends 
December 31 Last date to file Application for Graduation (JCPH Programs) 
Spring Term (14 Weeks)  
January 3, 2017, Tuesday
New Student Orientation
January 3, Tuesday Classes begin 
January 6, Friday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term 
january 16, Monday Martin Luther King Day of Service/ No Classes Scheduled
January 17, Tuesday Add/Drop Period ends 
February 3, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W” 
February 23, Thursday On-line Registration for Summer Semester begins (anticipated) 
April 10, Monday On-line Registration for Summer Semester ends 
April 11, Tuesday Classes end 
April 14, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m. 
TBA Commencement Exercises 
Summer Term (11 Weeks)  
April 17, 2017, Monday Classes begin 
April 28, Friday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
May 1, Monday Add/Drop Period ends 
May 12, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W” 
May 29, Monday Holiday, Memorial Day
June 29, Thursday On-line Registration for Fall begins (anticipated) 
June 30, Friday Classes end
July 7, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m. 
August 22, Tuesday On-line Registration for Fall ends

Online Courses

Fall Term (14 Weeks)  
September 3, 2016, Saturday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
August 29, Monday Orientation to Online Courses Begins (1 week)
August 29, Monday Add Period ends - (students needing orientation)
September 5, Monday Add Period ends - (completed orientation)
September 5, Monday Classes begin 
September 19, Monday Drop Period ends 
October 7, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
October 27, Thursday On-line Registration for Spring Semester begins (anticipated) 
December 11, Sunday Classes end 
December 16, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m. 
December 23, Tuesday On-Line Registration for Spring Semester ends
December 31   Last date to file Application for Graduation (JCPH Programs) 
Spring Term (14 Weeks)  
January 2, 2017, Monday Orientation to Online Courses Begins (1 week)
January 2, Monday Add Period ends - (students needing orientation)
January 9, Monday Add Period ends - (completed orientation)
January 9, Monday Classes begin 
January 20, Friday Last date to remove an "I" grade from previous term 
January 23, Monday Drop Period ends 
February 10, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
February 23, Thursday On-line Registration for Summer Semester begins (anticipated) 
April 11, Tuesday On-line Registration for Summer Semester ends 
April 16, Sunday Classes end
April 21, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m. 
TBA Commencement Exercises
Summer Term (14 Weeks)  
April 17, 2017, Monday Orientation to Online Courses Begins (1 week)
April 17, Monday Add Period ends - (students needing orientation)
April 24, Monday Add Period ends - (completed orientation)
April 24, Monday Classes begin 
May 8, Monday Drop Period ends 
May 22, Monday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
May 26, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W” 
June 29, Thursday On-line Registration for Fall begins (anticipated)
July 30, Sunday Classes end 
August 4, Friday Grades must be entered into Banner by 9:00 a.m.
August 18, Tuesday On-line Registration for Fall ends 

The University reserves the right to make changes to the academic calendar as circumstances may require.