Thomas Jefferson University
PhD Programs

Meet Our Students


GPN Student Group

The close-knit student body of the Graduate Program in Neuroscience is an integral part of the Jefferson Community and continues the time-honored tradition of scholarly exchange. Our interdisciplinary curriculum allows students from all departments to work collectively toward the common goal of progress in the field of neuroscience. 

Student Listing

Warren Anderson

Warren Anderson
Laboratory of Rajanikanth Vadigepalli, PhD
warren.anderson@jefferson.edu

 

Brian Corbett

Brian Corbett
Laboratory of Jeannie Chin, PhD
brian.corbett@jefferson.edu

 

Bridget Curran

Bridget Curran
Laboratory TBD
bridget.curran@jefferson.edu

 

Nathan Fried

Nathan Fried
Laboratory of Melanie Elliott, PhD
nathan.fried@jefferson.edu

 

Jonathan Gorky

Jonathan Gorky
Laboratory TBD
jonathan.gorky@jefferson.edu

 

Nathan Henderson

Nathan Henderson
Laboratory of Matthew Dalva, PhD
nathan.henderson@jefferson.edu

 

Alexandra Kenny

Alexandra Kenny
Laboratory TBD
alexandra.kenny@jefferson.edu

 

Azadeh Kia

Azadeh Kia
Laboratory of Piera Pasinelli, PhD
azadeh.kia@jefferson.edu

Eric Kostuk

Eric Kostuk
Laboratory of Lorraine Iacovitti, PhD
eric.kostuk@jefferson.edu

Zichen Li

Zichen Li
Laboratory of A. M. Rostami, MD, PhD
zichen.li@jefferson.edu

Daniel Machado
Kevin McAvoy

Kevin McAvoy
Laboratory of Piera Pasinelli, PhD
kevin.mcavoy@jefferson.edu

Dante Merlino

Dante Merlino
Laboratory of Scott Waldman, MD, PhD
dante.merlino@jefferson.edu

Tanziyah Muqeem

Tanziyah Muqeem
Laboratory of Manuel Covarrubias, MD, PhD
tanziyah.muqeem@jefferson.edu

 

Lauren Rosenblum

Lauren Rosenblum
Laboratory of Davide Trotti, PhD
lauren.rosenblum@jefferson.edu

Jarred Stratton

Jarred Stratton
Laboratory TBD
jarred.stratton@jefferson.edu

Xinmei Wen

Xinmei Wen
Laboratory of Davide Trotti, PhD
xinmei.wen@jefferson.edu

Thomas Westergard

Thomas Westergard
Laboratory of Davide Trotti, PhD
thomas.westergard@jefferson.edu

Jason You

Jason You
Laboratory of Jeannie Chin, PhD
jason.you@jefferson.edu

Lori Zboray

Lori Zboray
Laboratory of Diane Merry, PhD
lori.cooper@jefferson.edu

Benjamin Zemel

Benjamin Zemel
Laboratory of Manuel Covarrubias, MD, PhD
benjamin.zemel@jefferson.edu

Why Choose Jefferson?

Current Students

Xinmei Wen

Xinmei Wen
Fifth Year PhD Student

A strong sense of community truly distinguished Thomas Jefferson University from other schools to which I applied. This sense of community, in addition to a very reputable clinical curriculum and an array of interesting research opportunities in neuroscience, made Thomas Jefferson University my top choice for pursuit of my MD/PhD. Faculty members are approachable and supportive and I have developed meaningful relationships with both students and faculty here.

Thomas Westergard

Thomas Westergard
Second Year PhD Student

Being a part of Thomas Jefferson University’s Neuroscience Program has enabled me to expand my Neuroscience knowledge from more clinical to cellular and molecular levels as well. I’ve also been able to participate in teaching via assisting in several courses while in the Program, which has helped to solidify my career interest in neuroscience teaching and research.

Benjamin Zemel

Benjamin Zemel
Fourth Year PhD Student

I chose this Neuroscience Graduate Program because I immediately felt a fit that made Thomas Jefferson University my first choice. From the very beginning, I not only felt like I was an integral part of the Program, but was also made to feel like an individual. I felt as if every member of the faculty was personally involved in my education and vested in my success. Academically, there is a faculty member with first-hand knowledge for every interest and every question. Clinically, we work in close concert with the Jefferson Hospital for Neuroscience, one of the most prominent Neurological and Neurosurgical programs in the country, simultaneously allowing us to translate our research and have access to unique clinical resources. All of these reasons make it easy to pursue and become passionate about Neuroscience at Thomas Jefferson University.

Alumni

David Ritter

David Ritter
MD/PhD Student

The training I received in the Thomas Jefferson University Graduate Program in Neuroscience was phenomenal.  From outstanding faculty who care about students to a guest lecture series with top notch visiting professors to a strong camaraderie among students, the Program offered everything I needed to grow as a neuroscientist.  My training in the neuroscience program will undoubtedly serve as a basis for my future career as a physician-scientist.

Subhasree Basu

Subhasree Basu
PhD Student

I am an international PhD student, and I intended to join a university where my training as an independent investigator would be diverse and versatile. Thomas Jefferson University provided me with the perfect environment for my graduate studies in the Neuroscience program.  The Program is unique and is catered to the individual needs of graduate students.  A comprehensive curriculum, excellent faculty and a collaborative multicultural environment are some of the characteristics that made me join the Neuroscience Program at Thomas Jefferson University. While the seminar series introduced me to some of the world-renowned scientists in the field, the journal club discussions were always invigorating and intellectually stimulating. I am thankful to the University, my colleagues and the faculty for their support throughout my graduate school career. The training I received here as a graduate student has and will help me to build a strong foundation for my career as an independent investigator.