Thomas Jefferson University
PhD Programs
Meet Our Students

GPN Student Group

The close-knit student body of the Graduate Program in Neuroscience is an integral part of the Jefferson Community and continues the time-honored tradition of scholarly exchange. Our interdisciplinary curriculum allows students from all departments to work collectively toward the common goal of progress in the field of neuroscience. 

Student Listing

Eric Brown

Eric Brown
Laboratory TBD
Eric.V.Brown@jefferson.edu

Brittany Charsar

Brittany Charsar
Laboratory of Lorraine Iacovitti, PhD
Brittany.Charsar@jefferson.edu

Bridget Curran

Bridget Curran
Laboratory of Le Ma, PhD
Bridget.Curran@jefferson.edu

 

Jonathan Gorky

Jonathan Gorky
Laboratory of James Schwaber, PhD
Jonathan.Gorky@jefferson.edu

 

Miguel Goulao

Miguel Goulao
Laboratory of Angelo Lepore, PhD
Miguel.GoulaoDaCunha@jefferson.edu

Alexandra Kenny

Alexandra Kenny
Laboratory of Kyunghee Koh, PhD
Alexandra.Kenny@jefferson.edu

Zichen Li

Zichen Li
Laboratory of A. M. Rostami, MD, PhD
Zichen.Li@jefferson.edu

Daniel Machado

Daniel Machado
Laboratory of Kyunghee Koh, PhD
danielrodmachado@gmail.com

Rogan Magee

Rogan Magee
Laboratory of Isidore Rigoutsos, PhD
Rogan.Magee@jefferson.edu

 

 

Jared Marshall

Jared Marshall
Laboratory of Manuel Covarrubias, MD, PhD
Jared.Marshall@jefferson.edu

 

 

Kevin McAvoy

Kevin McAvoy
Laboratory of Piera Pasinelli, PhD
Kevin.McAvoy@jefferson.edu

Dante Merlino

Dante Merlino
Laboratory of Melanie Elliott, PhD    
Dante.Merlino@jefferson.edu

Brandie Morris

Brandie Morris
Laboratory TBD
Brandie.Morris@jefferson.edu

Tanziyah Muqeem

Tanziyah Muqeem
Laboratory of Manuel Covarrubias, MD, PhD
Tanziyah.Muqeem@jefferson.edu

Sean O’Sullivan

Sean O’Sullivan
Laboratory of James Schwaber, PhD
Sean.O'sullivan@jefferson.edu

Jarred Stratton

Jarred Stratton
Laboratory of Melanie Elliott, PhD
Jarred.Stratton@jefferson.edu

Thomas Westergard

Thomas Westergard
Laboratory of Davide Trotti, PhD
thomas.westergard@jefferson.edu

Ben Yang
Laboratory of Le Ma, PhD
Benjamin.Yang@jefferson.edu

Why Choose Jefferson?

Current Students

Xinmei Wen

Xinmei Wen
Fifth Year PhD Student

A strong sense of community truly distinguished Thomas Jefferson University from other schools to which I applied. This sense of community, in addition to a very reputable clinical curriculum and an array of interesting research opportunities in neuroscience, made Thomas Jefferson University my top choice for pursuit of my MD/PhD. Faculty members are approachable and supportive and I have developed meaningful relationships with both students and faculty here.

Thomas Westergard

Thomas Westergard
Second Year PhD Student

Being a part of Thomas Jefferson University’s Neuroscience Program has enabled me to expand my Neuroscience knowledge from more clinical to cellular and molecular levels as well. I’ve also been able to participate in teaching via assisting in several courses while in the Program, which has helped to solidify my career interest in neuroscience teaching and research.

Benjamin Zemel

Benjamin Zemel
Fourth Year PhD Student

I chose this Neuroscience Graduate Program because I immediately felt a fit that made Thomas Jefferson University my first choice. From the very beginning, I not only felt like I was an integral part of the Program, but was also made to feel like an individual. I felt as if every member of the faculty was personally involved in my education and vested in my success. Academically, there is a faculty member with first-hand knowledge for every interest and every question. Clinically, we work in close concert with the Jefferson Hospital for Neuroscience, one of the most prominent Neurological and Neurosurgical programs in the country, simultaneously allowing us to translate our research and have access to unique clinical resources. All of these reasons make it easy to pursue and become passionate about Neuroscience at Thomas Jefferson University.

Alumni

David Ritter

David Ritter
MD/PhD Student

The training I received in the Thomas Jefferson University Graduate Program in Neuroscience was phenomenal.  From outstanding faculty who care about students to a guest lecture series with top notch visiting professors to a strong camaraderie among students, the Program offered everything I needed to grow as a neuroscientist.  My training in the neuroscience program will undoubtedly serve as a basis for my future career as a physician-scientist.

Subhasree Basu

Subhasree Basu
PhD Student

I am an international PhD student, and I intended to join a university where my training as an independent investigator would be diverse and versatile. Thomas Jefferson University provided me with the perfect environment for my graduate studies in the Neuroscience program.  The Program is unique and is catered to the individual needs of graduate students.  A comprehensive curriculum, excellent faculty and a collaborative multicultural environment are some of the characteristics that made me join the Neuroscience Program at Thomas Jefferson University. While the seminar series introduced me to some of the world-renowned scientists in the field, the journal club discussions were always invigorating and intellectually stimulating. I am thankful to the University, my colleagues and the faculty for their support throughout my graduate school career. The training I received here as a graduate student has and will help me to build a strong foundation for my career as an independent investigator.