Thomas Jefferson University

Academic Calendar

PhD & MS Students

Summer 2016

June 13, Monday 

Summer classes begin

June 13, Monday Summer tuition due

July 4, Monday

4th of July Holiday (Independence Day)

September 2, Friday

Summer classes end

September 5, Monday

Labor Day Holiday

September 9, Friday

Grades Due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
Fall 2016
March 14 to August 25, 2016
Online Registration for Fall 2016 semester (anticipated)
September 1, Thursday Orientation for new students. 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
September 5, Monday Labor Day Holiday
September 6, Tuesday Fall classes begin
October 31, Monday Online Registration for Spring 2017 opens (anticipated)
November 23, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holiday begins 
November 28, Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
December 2, Friday Fall classes end 5:00 p.m.
December 9, Friday Fall grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)
December 31, Thursday Last day to file application for Graduation this academic year
Spring 2017
January 3, Tuesday  Spring I classes begin
January 16, Monday Martin Luther King Holiday
March 17, Friday Spring I classes end
March 20, Monday Spring II classes begin
March 20, Monday Online Registration for Summer and Fall 2017 opens (anticipated)
March 24, Friday Spring I grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.) 
TBA Commencement Exercises
June 9, Friday Spring II classes end
June 16, Friday Spring II grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)
Summer 2017
June 12, Monday Summer classes begin
July 4, Tuesday July 4th Holiday
September 1, Friday Summer classes end
September 4, Monday Labor Day Holiday
September 8, Friday Summer grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)

Postbaccalaureate Pre-Professional Program

Pre-Fall 2016 (Sessions for 1-year program)

May 30, Monday

Memorial Day

May 25 - 26, Wednesday - Thursday

Orientation for new students (1 year program)

May 31, Tuesday

Pre-Fall I classes begin

May 31, Tuesday

Pre-Fall I tuition due

July 12, Tuesday

Pre-Fall I classes end

July 14, Thursday

Pre-Fall II classes begin

August 19, Friday

Pre-Fall II classes end

August 26, Friday

Pre-Fall II Grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00 a.m.

Fall 2016
March 16 to August 26 Online Registration for Fall 2016 semester (anticipated)
August 30 - September 2, Tuesday-Friday Orientation for new students (2 year and 1 year programs)
September 5, Monday Labor Day Holiday
September 6, Tuesday Fall classes begin
September 6, Tuesday Fall tuition due
October 31, Monday   Online Registration for Spring 2017 opens (anticipated)
November 23, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holiday begins 5:00 p.m.
November 28, Monday Thanksgiving Holiday ends, classes resume 8:00 a.m. 
December 9, Friday Fall classes end
December 16, Friday Grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)
Spring 2017
January 3, Tuesday  Spring classes begin
January 3, Tuesday Spring tuition due
January 16, Monday Martin Luther King Holiday
February 27-March 3, Monday-Friday Spring Break
March 13, Monday Online Registration for Summer and Fall 2017 opens (anticipated)
April 21, Friday Spring classes/term ends
April 28, Friday Grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)
Pre-Fall 2017 (Sessions for 1 year program)
May 23-26, Tuesday-Friday Orientation for new students (1 year program)
May 29, Monday Memorial Day
May 30, Tuesday Pre-Fall I classes begin
May 30, Tuesday Pre-Fall tuition due 
July 4, Tuesday July 4th Holiday
July 11, Tuesday Pre-Fall I classes end
July 13, Thursday Pre-Fall II classes begin
August 18, Friday Pre-Fall II classes end
August 25, Friday Pre-Fall II Grades due in Registrar’s Office (9:00 a.m.)

The University reserves the right to make changes to the academic calendar as circumstances may require. Tuition is due no later than the first day of class.