Thomas Jefferson UniversityJefferson Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Main menu:

Distinguished Mentor Award (DMA)

The DMA was established by the Jefferson Postdoctoral Association (JPA) and the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (OPA) in 2007 to recognize Jefferson faculty members that excel in the mentoring of postdoctoral fellows. The award also serves to highlight the importance of positive and effective mentoring of postdoctoral fellows. A good mentor not only teaches his/her mentees but serves as an advocate, advisor and positive role model during the period of direct training and, most often, in the following years. The DMA is awarded on an annual basis.


Dr. Laurence (Ike) Eisenlohr, VMD, PhD, 2014 Distinguished Mentor Award Recipient, receiving his award from Lisa Kozlowski, PhD, Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs and Recruitment


Nominees must be a faculty member of Thomas Jefferson University; however, the nominee does not need to be the direct supervisor/PI of the postdoc that is submitting the nomination. Awardees are not eligible to receive the DMA in consecutive years.


Nominations must be made using the official nomination form and are limited to 1 form per postdoc per year. The nominator must have had the nominee as a mentor for at least six months before nominating him/her. The nominator is also highly encouraged to include supporting nominations from other current TJU postdocs or letters of support from former TJU postdocs. Nomination forms and all supporting material must be e-mailed to Lisa Kozlowski or delivered to M-46 JAH.


The recipient of the award will be selected by criteria set out in the nomination form.


The recipient will be chosen by the DMA Selection Committee which will be chaired by Lisa Kozlowski, PhD, Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs and Recruitment, and will also consist of faculty and postdocs. The DMA will be presented at the annual Postdoctoral Research Symposium. In addition, all nominated mentors will be recognized at this event and a list of nominees will be distributed via email to senior administration, faculty, staff, postdoctoral fellows, and students at Jefferson.

Previous DMA Winners

waldman-1902013 - Dr. Scott Waldman (left)
iozzo_1902012 – Dr. Renato Iozzo (left)
knudsen_1902012 – Dr. Karen Knudsen (right)
hajnoczky2011 – Dr. Gyorgy Hajnoczky
hoek22010 – Dr. Jan Hoek
benovic_1502009 – Dr. Jeffrey Benovic
taraschi2008 – Dr. Theodore Taraschi
grunwald2007 – Dr. Gerald Grunwald