Thomas Jefferson University

Main menu:

Seminars Series

Overall Seminar schedule available as PDF.

All presentations begin at noon.

Other TJU Neuroscience web sites:
Department of Neuroscience
The Farber Institute

Protein Disaggregases to Counter Human Disease

James Shorter, PhD

James Shorter, PhD
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
University of Pennsylvania

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

 

An Expanding Role of RNA-Binding Proteins in ALS

Aaron D. Gitler, PhD

Aaron D. Gitler, PhD
Department of Genetics
Stanford University

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

 

Molecular Mechanisms of Axon Guidance

Greg Bashaw, PhD

Greg Bashaw, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
University of Pennsylvania

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

 

Molecular Mechanisms Underlying the Establishment
of Neural Connectivity

Alex Kolodkin, PhD

Alex Kolodkin, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

 

What Does the Evolutionary History of Ion Channels Say About the Evolution of the Nervous System?

Tim Jegla, PhD

Tim Jegla, PhD
Department of Biology
Penn State University

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

 

White Matter Development & Regeneration After injury

Vittorio Gallo, PhD

Vittorio Gallo, PhD
Department of Pediatrics
George Washington University, Washington DC

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

 

Functional Regeneration into & Beyond the Glial Scar

Jerry Silver, PhD

Jerry Silver, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
Case Western Reserve University

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

 

The Role of the Retina in Circadian Rhythms

Samer Hattar, PhD

Samer Hattar, PhD
Departments of Biology and Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

 

Molecular Restraints On Experience-Dependent Plasticity
& Neural Repair

Stephen Strittmatter, MD, PhD

Stephen Strittmatter, MD, PhD
Departments of Neurology and Neurobiology
Yale University

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

 

Dynamic Mutations, Toxic RNAs & Neurologic Disease

Maurice Swanson, PhD

Maurice Swanson, PhD
Department of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
University of Florida

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

 

Molecular Mechanisms of Synapse Development & Disease

Deanna Benson, PhD

Deanna Benson, PhD
Department of Neurology
Mount Sinai Health System

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Unlocking the Secrets of Parkinson’s Disease

Ted Dawson, MD, PhD

Ted Dawson, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology
Johns Hopkins University

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

 

Control of Axon Morphogenesis & Presynaptic Properties Through Mitochondrial Localization & Function

Franck Polleux, PhD

Franck Polleux, PhD
Department Neuroscience
Columbia University

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

 

Stress & Neurogenesis

Elizabeth Gould, PhD

Elizabeth Gould, PhD
Departments of Psychology and Neuroscience
Princeton University

Tuesday April 5, 2016

 

The Cerebellum, Sensitive Periods, & Autism

Samuel Wang, PhD

Samuel Wang, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
Princeton University  

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

 

Nicotinic & Stress Related Mechanisms Boost Alcohol Self-Administration

John Dani, PhD

John Dani, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
University of Pennsylvania

Tuesday April 26, 2016

 

NMDA Receptors: Learning from Singles

Gabriela Popescu, PhD

Gabriela Popescu, PhD
Department of Biochemistry
SUNY, Buffalo, NY

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

 

Dendritic Spine Remodeling in Sleep & in Synaptic Plasticity

Wenbiao Gan, PhD

Wenbiao Gan, PhD
Department of Physiology and Neuroscience
New York University School of Medicine

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

 

Molecular Mechanisms of Axon Regeneration

Melissa Rolls, PhD

Melissa Rolls, PhD
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Pennsylvania State University

Tuesday, June 17, 2016