Thomas Jefferson University

Main menu:

Spinal Disorders Fellowship

This fellowship is accredited by the Committee on Accreditation of Subspecialty Training of the Society of Neurological Surgeons and offers training in a comprehensive approach to the treatment of spinal disorders, including microsurgery, neoplasms, degenerative, deformity and trauma. Innovative techniques for spinal cord injury treatment, and spinal neoplasms utilizing the IMRT (LINAC based). In addition, clinical experience is available in intensive care of spinal cord injured patients, as well as closed reduction of traumatic deformities, pain management schemes. Jefferson Department of Neurological Surgery is fortunate to be associated with and working together with the Delaware Valley Spinal Cord Injury Center.

Within the past year, approximately 1,000 operations for spinal disorders were performed in the Department of Neurological Surgery of which >150 were in spinal cord injured patients. The remainder were for degenerative disease, spinal deformity and spinal cord stimulation. This represents a larger volume of spinal surgery than all other programs in the Philadelphia region. Fellows are also trained in a combined approach with a coordinated involvement in the orthopedic spinal department. Daily rounds and film review are done with 5-7 fellowship trained spinal surgeons (3 neurosurgeons and 4 orthopedic surgeons) to facilitate the education process and a further understanding of spinal disorders.

All candidates applying to the Spinal section of the Department of Neurological Surgery must, as a requirement for application, meet all ABMS Specialty Board-related eligibility prerequisites required to enter training in the related specialty program at Jefferson.

Further, all candidates must satisfy the requirements of the State of Pennsylvania Board of Medical Licensure for appointment at the specific level of training for which the position is offered.

In addition, applicants must meet one of the following qualifications to be eligible to apply for the Fellowship Training Program:


  1. Graduates of medical schools in the United States and Canada accredited by the LCME;
  2. Graduates of osteopathic medicine in the United States accredited by the AOA;
  3. Graduates of medical schools outside the United States who meet one of the following qualifications:
    1. Have received a currently valid certificate from the ECFMG; or
    2. Have a full and unrestricted license to practice medicine in a U.S. licensing jurisdiction.
  4. Graduates of medical schools outside the United States who have completed a Fifth Pathway program provided by an LCME-accredited medical school.


Applicants must also have completed a residency either in neurological surgery or neuroradiology at an ACGME-approved program in the United States. All prerequisite prior training must be successfully completed prior to beginning a fellowship in the Department of Neurological Surgery.

Resident applicants will be evaluated on the basis of their preparedness, ability, aptitude, academic credentials, communication skill, and personal qualities such as motivation, honesty, and integrity. The program does not discriminate with regard to sex, race, age, religion, color, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, or veteran status.

All applications are initially reviewed by the Fellowship Directors, James S. Harrop, MD and Ashwini D. Sharan, MD. The decision to offer an interview to an applicant is made by the Fellowship Director based upon the following criteria: academic credentials, ability, aptitude, communication skills, three letters of recommendation, and personal qualities such as motivation, honesty and integrity.

For additional information:
Phone: (215) 503-7008
Fax: (215) 503-2452

For Additional Information

Contact Janice Longo
(215) 503-7008
(215) 503-2452 fax


Read More