Thomas Jefferson UniversitySidney Kimmel Medical College

Main menu:

Division of Medical Physics

The mission of the Medical Physics Division, adopted from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, is to provide the highest quality of patient care, participate in innovative research and development, and educate future leaders in the field of radiation oncology. The medical physics department supports the code of ethics adopted by the AAPM.

Providing clinical assistance, quality assurance, research opportunities, and educational support, TJU physicists are involved in many aspects of the department. Physics supports radiation therapy programs at Bodine Cancer Center, Jefferson Hospital for Neuroscience, Aria Health, Methodist, and Riddle hospitals. Thomas Jefferson University has strong clinical and research programs in IGRT, IMRT, VMAT, stereotactic radiosurgery, brachytherapy, and radiobiology. The Radiation Oncology Department at Jefferson has state-of-the-art technologies, which include three Elekta, six Varian and one Novalis linear accelerators, 4D conebeam CT capability, robotic-controlled patient couch with six degrees of freedom movements, electronic portal imaging systems, GE 4D CT, Gamma Knife, XiO, Monaco Monte Carlo, and Eclipse treatment planning systems, MiMvista image analysis software, Nucletron HDR brachytherapy (breast, gynecological, skin, prostate), LDR prostate seed brachytherapy, IMRT, VMAT, TBI, IORT, SRS, radioactive microspheres, and department-wide RT-PACs system. The physics division currently consists of nine PhD level physicists, four MS level physicists, seven dosimetrists, residents and research assistants, an IS group, and in-house engineering support.

The Medical Physics division has a long history of educating leading medical physicists in research and clinical services. With the addition of the residency program at Christiana Care Health Systems (CCHS), the medical physics residency program at TJU is now one of the first "hub and spoke" accredited residency programs in the country through the Commission on Accreditation for Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP).