Thomas Jefferson UniversitySidney Kimmel Medical College

Main menu:

Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery at Jefferson holds a unique position in the history of American medicine. Many of the field's most gifted visionaries have been faculty members, including the founder George McClellan, Samuel D. Gross of "Gross Clinic" fame and  John H. Gibbon, Jr., inventor of the heart-lung machine.

Today, our faculty is comprised of over 50 talented clinicians and researchers, men and women at the top of their respective fields. We are dedicated to pursuing rigorous bench research, translating those findings to clinical practice and educating the next generation of surgeons.

Grand Rounds Lectures

Lectures are held on Thursday mornings at 7 am in Foerderer Auditorium in the College Building (1025 Walnut Street) unless noted otherwise. Lectures are open to the Jefferson community and the public.

Date Speaker Title
May 7, 2015 Bernard L. Lopez, MD, MS, CPE
Associate Dean, Diversity and
Community Engagement
April 30, 2015 Keith D. Lillemoe, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery
Surgeon-in-Chief, Massachusetts General Hospital
John H. Gibbon Jr.
Grand Rounds

“Surgical Decision-Making: Right & Wrong”
April 9, 2015 Jonathan H. Waters, MD
Professor of Anesthesiology and Bioengineering
Chief of Anesthesiology, UPMC
Medical Director, Blood Management Division, Biotronics, Inc.
Medical Director, UPMC Patient Blood Management Program
Combined Anesthesia and Surgery Grand Rounds:

"Patient Blood Management: Changing the Transfusion Paradigm”

View Lecture

View All Lectures