Thomas Jefferson UniversitySidney Kimmel Medical College

Main menu:

Faculty Senate

The goal of the Faculty Senate is to contribute to the intellectual climate of the University by providing a forum for bidirectional communication between the University Administration and the University Faculty. The Faculty Senate shall be a means by which the faculties of the Colleges and Schools of Thomas Jefferson University communicate with the University’s Administration through the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs on matters which relate to the education, research and service missions of the
University and/or to the welfare of its faculty.

Currently, there are 24 Faculty Senators, and the distribution among members from each Jefferson school and college is as follows:

  • Medical College 8
  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences 4
  • School of Health Professions 4
  • School of Nursing 4
  • School of Pharmacy 2
  • School of Population Health 2

Each School within TJU should institute procedures to provide for the yearly nomination and election of Senators by the Faculty within that School. Terms of office for Senators shall be two years except for the first election. For the inaugural Senate only, half of the membership in each College or School will serve a two year term, while the other half will serve full three year terms. This will ensure that the senate membership will undergo a 50% turn-over every year, thereby maintaining continuity.

After each School or College elects its senators, the Senate membership will elect the Senate officers (President and Secretary) from among the senate membership per procedures established by the Senate. Based on the outcome of that election, the President and Secretary will be appointed to two year terms on the Senate. The remainder of the inaugural senate membership will be randomly assigned to either two or three year terms using a stratified randomization procedure (stratification according to school or college). In subsequent elections, senators will be elected to two year terms.

Officers of the Senate will include a President and Secretary who will be elected by the members of the Senate by a simple majority. Each officer will be elected for a one year term per procedures established by the Senate. The President and Secretary of the senate must be representatives of two different schools or colleges.