Thomas Jefferson UniversitySidney Kimmel Medical College

Main menu:

Jefferson's Women of Distinction

Elizabeth Bogardus – First woman resident
1952 — Jefferson Medical College Hospital welcomes its first resident, Elizabeth M. Bogardus, MD, Radiology, in July. She was a 1949 graduate of Long Island College of Medicine. She went on sick leave in February 1953 and never returned.

Ann M. Dimitroff, MD – First woman intern
1959 — Jefferson Medical College Hospital welcomes its first female intern, Ann M. Dimitroff MD, a graduate of the Medical College University of Louisville, 1959.

Cora LeEthel Christian, MD

Cora LeEthel Christian, MD – First African American graduate
1971 — Cora LeEthel Christian becomes the first African American woman to be a JMC graduate.

Leah M. Lowenstein, MD

Leah M. Lowenstein, MD – First woman Dean of JMC
1982 — Leah M. Lowenstein becomes first woman Dean of JMC and first woman dean of any US coeducational medical College. Though last to admit female students, JMC was the first co-educational medical College to appoint a woman as a Dean. Leah Lowenstein, MD, came from Boston, where she built a reputation as a gifted teacher, clinician and researcher in renal and metabolic diseases. She arrived at JMC in July 1982 but resigned for health reason 18 months later. She died from cancer within a year. In 2008, JMC unveiled her portrait, and it hangs in the Office of the Dean today.

Patricia M. Curtin

Patricia M. Curtin – First woman trustee
1988 — Board of Trustees initiates adding a female member from recent alumni; Patricia M. Curtin, Class of 1988, becomes the first such trustee.

Nancy Szwec Czarnecki, MD

Nancy Szwec Czarnecki, MD – First JMC Alumni President
1989 — First woman JMC Alumni President elected, Nancy Szwec Czarnecki, Class of 1965. First woman graduate of JMC.

Marion J. Siegman, PhD

Marion J. Siegman, PhD – Chair of a Basic Science Department
2002 — Marion J. Siegman becomes first woman Chair of a Basic Science Department (Physiology).

Vijay M. Rao, MD

Vijay M. Rao, MD – First woman Chair of a Clinical Department (Radiology) 
2002 — Vijay M. Rao named first woman of a Clinical Department, (Radiology)