Thomas Jefferson University

Main menu:

Jefferson Physician
Scientist Association

The Jefferson Physician Scientist Association (JPSA) was founded in Fall 2010 with the purpose of advancing the future of translational medicine and representing the position of MD/PhD students in academic and extracurricular matters. Membership includes all students enrolled in the MD/PhD Program who will be primarily recruited at the annual MD/PhD orientation and welcome in early fall of each academic year. Officers are elected annually.

  • President: Lauren Rosenblum (2015-2016)
  • Secretary: Sean O'Sullivan (2015-2016)
  • Treasurer: Jared Marshall (2015-2016)
  • VP for Academic Affairs : Brittany Charsar (JGSBS) and Jeffrey Rappaport (SKMC)(2015-2016)
  • VP for Career Development: Elaine Yang (2015-2016)
  • VP for Community and Cultural Affairs: Tanziyah Muqeem (2015-2016)
  • VP for Recruitment: Dante Merlino and Michael Vido (2015-2016)

Academic Affairs: Represent students on the MD/PhD Steering Committee; serve as the leading student voice for recruiting, admissions and MD/PhD program direction and development. Organize 3 annual seminars: “Bench to Bedside”; “How to Choose Your MD/PhD Rotations”; “Clinical Rotations in Research”.

Career Development: Plan and organize seminars on translational topics related to interests of JPSA members.  Promote a culture of translational medicine at TJU by developing relevant opportunities for PhD students (clinical mentor program) and MD students (“How to publish” seminar and “Journal Club” series).

Community and Cultural Affairs: Coordinate efforts to interact with groups and individuals outside the JPSA community; creating and maintaining an alumni network; serve as president of MD/PhD Social Committee; spearhead all social activities related to the annual retreat.

Recruitment: Represent students on admissions committee (non-voting); develop and organize interview days; 2nd looks, and be the interface between applicants and current students.