Thomas Jefferson University

Main menu:


Scott A. Waldman
Scott A. Waldman

Program Director

Dr. Scott Waldman, the MD/PhD Program Director, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. His research focuses on GCC, demonstrating the importance of this receptor as a novel tumor suppressor central to the induction of colorectal cancer, and the translation of those observations to patient care.  Indeed, he is the PI of NCI multi-institutional clinical trials examining the utility of GCC as a molecular marker for managing patients with, and as a target for the prevention of, colorectal cancer.  Projects in his laboratory examine the translation of GCC biology into approaches to image colorectal tumors, prevent neoplastic transformation in intestine, and paradigms for vaccine development for patients with colorectal cancer.  His research combines both basic and clinical investigation and serves as an exemplar of translational research. Dr. Waldman’s office is 901 College. He can be reached by phone at (215) 955-6086 and by email at


Laurence C. Elseniohr VMD, PhD
Laurence C.

Program Co-Director

Dr. Laurence “Ike” Eisenlohr, the Program Co-Director, is Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and Vice-Chair of Research.  Using several viral infection models for the most part, his laboratory investigates major histocompatibility complex class I- and class II-restricted antigen processing, T cell responses and memory, autoimmunity, and anti-cancer immunity.  Dr. Eisenlohr’s office is 730 BLSB. He can be reached by phone at (215) 503-4540 and by email at

Drs. Eisenlohr and Waldman work as a team to ensure the success of the MD/PhD Program and its students.  Both co-advise the monthly Journal Club in Translational Investigation and Progress in Translational Research Seminars, and the semi-annual Physician Scientist Mentorship Series, where they have direct and regular interactions with all students.  Both hold regularly scheduled individual program meetings with students at all phases of training, to guide their progress and transitions between medical and graduate colleges.  Together Dr. Waldman and Dr. Eisenlohr advise each student on choices for thesis programs, choices for rotations, and thesis advisors. 

Joanne Balitzky

Program Administrative Director

Joanne Balitzky is the MD/PhD Administrative Director.  Her office is 910 BLSB. Joanne can be reached by phone at (215) 503-6687 and by email at

Administrative oversight for the Program is provided by the MD/PhD Steering Committee, chaired by Dr. Gerald Grunwald, Dean of the Jefferson Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Professor of Pathology, Anatomy & Cell Biology, and is composed of faculty who represent seven departments involved in the scientific and/or clinical training of MD/PhD students. Members of the committee, in addition to the Program Co-Directors, include: Clara Callahan, MD, Associate Dean for Admission in Sidney Kimmel Medical College and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics; Charles Pohl, MD, Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs in Sidney Kimmel Medical College and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics; Susan R. Rosenthal, MD, Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Career Counseling, and Professor of Pediatrics; Jeffrey Benovic, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Michael Root, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Hallgeir Rui, MD, PhD, Professor in the Department of Cancer Biology; and Ross Summer, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care. Administrative members include Joanne Balitzky, Administrative Director of the MD/PhD Program; Elizabeth Brooks, DPM, Director of Admissions for SKMC; and Marc Stearns, Director of Admissions for JGSBS. There are also two student representatives to this committee, elected officers of the Jefferson Physician Scientist Association.