Thomas Jefferson UniversityJefferson School of Nursing

Main menu:

The History of Sigma Theta Tau

SigmaThetaTau

Founded in 1922, Sigma Theta Tau is an international nursing honor society comprised of over 200,000 members in over 346 chapters. The name Sigma Theta Tau identifies the society's commitment to love (Storga), courage (Tharos), and Honor (Tima). Our members represent the best in the profession, and collectively we shape the future of professional nursing throughout the world.

As a collective of nurse leaders, Sigma Theta Tau International is a dynamic force that actively promotes scholarship, inquiry, leadership and quality in nursing practice, nursing education, and nursing research.

 

 

Founded in 1980, Delta Rho is celebrating 27 years of scholarship, research and leadership. Delta Rho was granted the International "Key Award" for chapter excellence in 1995, 1997, and 2001. Our first "Newsletter Award" was recognized for "Special Edition Excellence" in 1995.

Delta Rho Chapter
Board Members

President
Sharon R. Rainer
Sharon.Rainer@jefferson.edu

President Elect
Dorothea Frederick
Dorothea.Frederick@jefferson.edu

Treasurer
Kathleen Sibre
Kathleen.M.Sibre@jeffersonhospital.org

Recording Secretary
Denise Brown
Denise.R.Brown@jefferson.edu

Research Chair
Theresa Yeo
Theresa.Yeo@jefferson.edu

Leadership Succession
Amy Szajna
Amy.Szajna@jefferson.edu

Faculty Co-Counselors
Cecelia Borden
Cecelia.Borden@jefferson.edu

David Jack
David.Jack@jefferson.edu

Awards Chair
Anthony Angelow
Anthony.Angelow@jefferson.edu

Philanthropic Chair
Kathryn Shaffer
Kathryn.Shaffer@jefferson.edu

Publicity/Scholarship Chair
Julia Ward
Julia.Ward@jefferson.edu

Governance Chair
Susan Egger
Susan.Egger@jefferson.edu

News

Recent Awards

Delta Rho received four "Showcase of Regional Excellence" awards recognizing good work in all four areas of the Sigma Theta Tau Presidential Call-to-Action:

• creating welcoming
   environments
• enhancing knowledge
   resources and networks
• contributing to global
   health
• creating a legacy of
   personal leadership

View the current chapters that are recipients of the 2009-2011 Showcase of Regional Excellence.


Please visit our
Sigma Theta Tau-Delta Rho Chapter Website
for more information.


Delta Rho Newsletter

Delta Rho Newsletter(PDF File, 192KB)

Read More