Jefferson School Of Health Professions Alumni, Staff and Faculty Honored At Annual Awards Ceremony

Jefferson School of Health Professions (JSHP) faculty, staff and alumni were recognized for their service and accomplishments at the Annual Awards Ceremony in June.

The Outstanding Service Recognition Award, which recognizes a Jefferson employee who has rendered exceptional service to the School and its students by demonstrating flexibility, problem solving, courtesy, attention to the needs of students, other constituents and going above and beyond the call of duty, was awarded to Susan McFadden, Director, University Office of Financial Aid. Janice P. Burke, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Dean, Jefferson School of Health Professions said, “Sue is a collaborator and a true professional who is always ready to assist our students and faculty and always has an accurate answer, which is delivered with a smile. She has helped us through some challenging financial aid issues. She is a Jefferson gem and a joy to work with.”

Two alumni awards – the Alumni Emerging Leader Award and the Alumni Distinguished Service Award – were given to recognize the professional achievements of former Jefferson students. The following individuals, one who is a Jefferson faculty member, received the Emerging Leader Award:
• Michelle F. Baun, BS ’97, MS ’07, OTR/L, Department of Occupational Therapy, Rehab Program Manager for Penny Pack Center, one of Genesis Rehab’s homes. “Ms. Baun faces every challenge that comes with leadership,” said Dr. Burke “She has a dedication to excellence that is contagious to those around her.”
• John P. Feeley, MS ’97, PT, Department of Physical Therapy, Physical Therapy Team Leader, Spinal Cord Injury System of Care, Moss Rehab, Elkins Park, PA. Dr. Burke said, “John’s incessant loyalty to patients, unique talents as a clinician and professional display of excellence, innovation, commitment and passion make him a role model in physical therapy practice.”
• David R. Pennel, BS ’06, MS ’08, RT (MR), CNMT, Department of Radiologic Sciences, MRI Research Technologist, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, “David has unlimited potential for success as evidenced by his desire to take on difficult imaging projects,” remarked presenter Janice P. Burke, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Dean of JSHP. “He has a passion for contributing to research projects at a national and international level.”
Megan E. Gibbons, MS ’04, PT, Department of Physical Therapy, Advanced Clinician I, Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals, accepted the Alumni Distinguished Service Award for her significant contributions to the mission of the School. “Meghan served as a leader while a student at Jefferson,” remarked Dr. Burke. “Through her dedication to excellence, she helps students discover new knowledge through hands-on experience and investigation, while fostering an educational environment.”

Audrey Zapletal, MS, OTR/L, Instructor, Department of Occupational Therapy, accepted The Fred & Sadye Abrams Award for Excellence in Clinical or Laboratory Instruction for her exceptional ability to foster learning in the clinical or laboratory setting. “Audrey is an amazing teacher who is able to explain complicated material in an accessible way,” remarked Dr. Burke. “She is breaking new ground in educational methods and her work as brought national attention to the Jefferson OT program.”

Christina A. Truluck, PhD, RT(N), CNMT, Associate Professor, Program Director and Clinical Coordinator, Nuclear Medicine, Department of Radiologic Sciences, was awarded the Dean’s Faculty Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding faculty members for their performance in higher education.

Leigh Ann Hewston, PT, MEd, Instructor in JSHP’s Department of Physical Therapy, was awarded the Jefferson Award for Excellence in Interprofessional Education, which recognizes outstanding faculty members who demonstrate excellence in interprofessional education, and whose efforts have resulted in sustained impact on interprofessional collaboration to improve the education of Jefferson students.

Andrew Wu, PhD, DABR, DABMP, FAAPM, Clinical Professor for Medical Dosimetry, Department of Radiologic Sciences, received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, which recognizes outstanding faculty members for their performance in higher education. This honor is made possible on this and other university campuses by the generous support of the Lindback Foundation. The award was presented by Michael J. Vergare, MD, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dr. Burke. “Dr. Wu is one of those rare individuals who is able to blend teaching and scholarship seamlessly,” remarked Dr. Vergare. “He is a passionate, dedicated educator who gives 100% of his attention to his students.”


Published: 09-15-2011

Close Window

Jefferson School of Health Professions