Jefferson School Of Nursing Alumni, Staff and Faculty Honored At Annual Awards Ceremony

Jefferson School of Nursing (JSN) staff, faculty and alumni were recognized for their service and accomplishments at the Annual Awards Ceremony in June.

The Outstanding Service Recognition Award, which recognizes a Jefferson employee who has rendered exceptional service to the School and its students by demonstrating flexibility, problem solving, courtesy, attention to the needs of students, other constituents and going above and beyond the call of duty, was awarded to
Lyn Sobolewski, Director, Special Projects, Office of the Dean, JSN and University Office of Academic Affairs. Presenter Mary G. Schaal, EdD, RN, JSN Professor and Founding Dean said, “Lyn has a keen understanding of both the history of the university and the operations that move it forward. She has consistently performed her responsibilities at outstanding levels and is a dedicated and motivated employee.”

Two alumni awards – the Alumni Emerging Leader Award and the Alumni Distinguished Service Award – were given to recognize the professional achievements of former Jefferson students.
Julia R. Feliciano, BSN’93, MSN, CRNA, Instructor and Program Director, Nurse Anesthesia Program, accepted the Alumni Emerging Leader Award as an alumna, who early in her career, has made significant contributions in research, leadership in professional organizations, community service or other professional accomplishments. “Julia was instrumental in the successful initial accreditation of the CRNA program,” remarked Dr. Schaal. “The accreditation is effective for ten years, a very unusual accomplishment for a new program.”
Mary G. Schaal, RN ’73, BSN ’81, EdD, Founding Dean of JSN and former professor, accepted the Alumni Distinguished Service Award as a graduate who has made an exceptional contribution of time, resources and expertise to advance the mission of the School. Presenter Ann Phalen, PhD, APRN, NNP-BC, Assistant Professor at JSN said, “During Dr. Schaal’s fourteen years at Jefferson, she has distinguished herself through her service to this university and the resultant accomplishments, including JSN enrollment increase from 250 to 1,000 students; redesign of graduate and undergraduate curricula; planning and implementation of multiple additional graduate program options and the Doctor of Nursing Practice program. She is a wonderful role model for faculty and students alike.”

Susan E. Shirato, DNP, RN, CCRN, Assistant Professor for JSN’s Undergraduate Program, accepted The Fred & Sadye Abrams Award for Excellence in Clinical or Laboratory Instruction for her exceptional ability to foster learning in the clinical or laboratory setting. “Dr. Shirato has been identified by her students as an outstanding teacher and role model,” remarked Dr. Schaal. “She has made and continues to make significant contributions to the education and professional development of our students.”

Beth Ann Swan, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, JSN, received the Dean’s Faculty Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding faculty members for their performance in higher education. “Dr. Swan has been instrumental in planning and organizing the CCNE accreditation visit to JSN,” remarked presenter Mary G. Schaal, EdD, RN, JSN Professor and Founding Dean. “She has successfully integrated the roles of educator, clinician and researcher and is a quintessential Academician.”



Published: 09-15-2011

Close Window