JCLS Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 1983 to recognize the outstanding professional achievements of graduates of Jefferson College of Life Sciences (formerly Jefferson College of Biomedical Sciences) and to foster communication between current and former students. The Award is presented each year during JCLS Alumni Day. The honoree is invited to present on his or her career achievements and meet current students and postdoctoral fellows, alumni, and faculty. JCLS Alumni Day 2019 will be held on Saturday, April 13, 2019. 

All members of the Jefferson community - past and present - are invited to participate by nominating exceptional JCLS alumni for consideration by the JCLS Alumni Association’s Awards Committee for this prestigious honor.

To submit a nomination, please include a curriculum vitae or resume, along with a letter of nomination, explaining the nominee’s professional achievements including one or more of the following:

  • significant scientific, academic, professional, entrepreneurial, or industry contributions to medicine or science
  • fruitful scientific endeavors outside of his or her institution
  • evidence of outstanding mentorship
  • service to the community as a scientist
  • contributions to forwarding the stature of Thomas Jefferson University

Nominations should be submitted by email to Anne Jensen, Senior Director, Alumni Relations at, or by mail or in person to the Office of Alumni Relations, Pinizzotto-Ammon Alumni Center, Jefferson Alumni Hall, 1020 Locust Street, Suite 210, Philadelphia, PA 19107 by no later than Friday, November 30, 2018.

Please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 215-955-7750 or if you have any questions.

Past Award Recipients

1983: Sydney Spector, PhD ’56
1984: Eileen Randall, PhD ’60
1985: Ronald Jensh, PhD ’66
1986: Gary McGarrity, PhD ’70
1987: Joseph Borzelleca, PhD ’56
1988: Richard Rothman, MD, PhD ’65
1989: Philip Rosenberg, PhD ’57
1990: Julian Ambrus, MD, PhD ’54
1991: Mark Brown, MD, PhD ’69
1992: Fredric Rieders, PhD ’52
1993: Melvin Johnson, PhD ’69
1994: Kent Weinhold, MS ’75, PhD ’79
1995: Mildred S. Christian, PhD ’79
1996: Prabhavathi B. Fernandes, PhD ’75
1997: Wade H. Berrettini, MD, PhD ’79
1998: George J. Trachte, PhD ’79
1999: Scott Waldman, MD, PhD ’80


2000: Mark E. Brezinski, MD, PhD ’88
2001: Elaine Z. Francis, PhD ’78
2002: Richard Thomson Jr., MS ’76, PhD ’80 
2003: Georganne Buescher, EdD, MS ’75
2004: Eli Fromm, PhD ’67
2005: Michael Rieders, PhD ’85
2006: Brian O’Rourke, PhD ’90
2007: Susan Dillon, PhD ’85
2008: Thomas B. Knudsen, PhD ’81
2009: Vincent T. Armenti, MD ’82, PhD ’79
2010: Nicholas Nicolaides, PhD ’92 
2011: Leonard M. Rosenfeld, PhD ’64
2012: Richard A. Brigandi, MD’97, PhD ’97
2013: Yun Yen MD, PhD ’88
2014: E. John Wherry, PhD ’00
2015: Michael R. Blackburn, PhD '94
2016: Michael Hsieh, MD '01
2017: Mindy George-Weinstein, BSN '78, PhD '84
2018: Laura Trinkle-Mulcahy, PhD '95