Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

InterProfessional Care
for the 21st Century

October 26 to 27, 2018

The purpose of this conference was to showcase scholarly work and works in progress related to interprofessional education and/or practice.  In our 6th edition of this conference this October 2018, attendees reflected on innovative implementation and evaluation strategies of the interprofessional competencies.  Educators, clinicians, practitioners, researchers, health system leaders, policymakers, patient organizations, students and other interested stakeholders in the health and social services arena were among those who attended. Click here to review the Conference Learning Objectives and Themes/Topics.

JCIPE would like to thank all of our keynote speakers, presenters, participants, session moderators, abstract reviewers, and conference committee members for making this year’s conference a success.  We are so grateful for your participation!  Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all at our 7th Biennial Conference in 2020! 


Elena Umland, PharmD
Co-Director, Jefferson Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (JCIPE)

Lauren Collins, MD
Co-Director, Jefferson Center for Interprofessional Practice and  Education (JCIPE)

JCIPE would like to thank all of our Keynote Presenters including:

George Thibault, MD

George Thibault, MD

Former President

The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation


Patty Coker-Bolt, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

Medical University of South Carolina


Mark Goldszmidt, MD, PhD, FRCPC

University of Western Ontario


Peter Vlasses, PharmD, DSc (Hon.), FCCP

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

JCIPE would like to thank all of our Pre-Conference Workshop presentaters including:

Integrating Interprofessional Student Hotspotting: Lessons Learned from Four Hotspotting Hubs 

Amy Hester-Anderson, Samuel Merritt University;
Tracey Smith, DNP, MS, Southern Illinois University Medical School;
Meghan Golden, LCSW, Southern Illinois University Medical School;
Kyle Turner, PharmD, Univeristy of Utah College of Pharmacy;
Tracey Vause Earland, PhD, OTR/L, Thomas Jefferson University;
Julia Ward, PhD, RN, Thomas Jefferson University.

Creating an Interactive TeamSTEPPS Course

Alan Forstater, MD, FACEP, Thomas Jefferson University;
Amber King, PharmD, Thomas Jefferson University.

Transformational Leadership (Macy Faculty Scholars)

Lauren Collins, MD, Thomas Jefferson University;
Alan Dow, III, MD, MSHA,  Virginia Commonwealth University;
Laura Hanyok, MD, Johns Hopkins University;
Memoona Hasnain, MD, MPHE, PhD, University of Illinois (Lead Presenter);
Wendy Madigosky, MD, MSPH, University of Colorado School of Medicine;
Meg Zomorodi, PhD, RN, CNL,University of North Carolona at Chapel Hill.

Narrative Medicine: A Method to Build Interprofessional Teams

Deepthiman K. Gowda, MD, MPH, Columbia University;
Danielle Spencer, BA MS, PhDc, Columbia University

JCIPE would like to thank all of our  Conference Planning Committee Members including:

  • Martha Ankeny, MEd
  • Jeanne Cole, EdD
  • Lauren Collins, MD
  • Sarah Dallas, BA
  • Colleen Dempsey, MS, RT(R )
  • Alan Forstater, MD, FACEP
  • Angela Gerolamo, PhD, APRN, BCPS
  • Adel Herge, OTD, OTR/L
  • Leigh Ann Hewston, PT, MEd, CEEAA
  • Melissa Horowitz, BA
  • Amber King, PharmD
  • Sarah Libros, BA
  • Anne Lizardi-Calvaresi, CRNP
  • Catherine Mills
  • Anne Mitchell, PhD, CRNP
  • Courtney Newsome, BA
  • Julie Phillips, PhD
  • Shoshana Sicks, EdM
  • Susan Toth-Cohen, PhD, OTR/L
  • Elena Umland, PharmD
  • Deborah White-Boone

JCIPE would like to thank all of our  Conference Moderators including:

  • Chalia Bellis
  • Sara Cohen
  • Kelly Dennin
  • Alan Forstater, MD, FACEP
  • Taylor Holt
  • Madeline Runyen
  • Caitlin Taylor