Thomas Jefferson University


The Medical Oncology Executive Committee actively seeks to make continual advancements in the department with a vision to build programs to enhance our reputation and recognition, develop process excellence, establish strong human resources and expertise, and to achieve financial success in all academic, research and clinical care arenas. With these goals in mind, the specific objectives of the Medical Oncology Executive Committee include:

A) Academic Excellence

  • Highly skilled and regarded faculty
  • Timely, compassionate, and appropriate care
  • Preferred regional oncology provider
  • High level of internal (TJU) and external (regional) respect
  • State of the art clinical programs in all common malignancies
  • State of the art clinical programs in selected rarer malignancies
  • Bench to bedside translation in selected programs
  • Conduct of outstanding/desirable investigator initiated and pharmaceutical trials
  • Outstanding teaching programs attracting outstanding trainees

B) Financial Profitability

  • Efficient and Profitable practice
  • Profitability rewards existing programs and grows new ones
  • Established philanthropy
  • Established grant base
  • Profitable clinical trials operation
  • New opportunities for growth and revenue generation can be seized

C) Personal Satisfaction

  • Type A - desire to be the best
  • Climate of collegiality/teamwork
  • Efficient, pleasant environment which enhances productivity
  • Satisfaction from seeing growth and development of new programs

Committee Chairman
Neal Flomenberg, MD
Chair, Dept. of Medical Oncology

Standing Members
Katrina Shirmacker, RN, MBA
Departmental Administrator

Matthew Carabasi, MD
Director, Clinical Research

Andrew Chapman, DO
Vice Chairman for Clinical Operations

Allison Zibelli, MD
Director, Division of Regional Cancer Care

Joanne Filicko-O'Hara, MD
Director, Education & Training Programs

Wm. Kevin Kelly, DO
Director, Division of Solid Tumor Oncology

Edith Mitchell, MD
Director, Diversity Programs

Ron Myers, PhD
Director, Division of Population Science

John Wagner, MD
Clinical Director, Blood and Marrow Transplant Program

Pierluigi Porcu, MD
Director, Division of Hematologic Malignancies

James Posey III, MD
Director, Gastrointestinal Program