Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

Eligibility & Selection


Applicants with one of the following qualifications are eligible for appointment to the neurosurgery residency training program:

  1. Graduates of medical schools in the United States and Canada accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME).
  2. Graduates of colleges of osteopathic medicine in the United States accredited by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA).
  3. Graduates of medical schools outside the United States and Canada who meet one of the following qualifications:
    1. Have received a currently valid certificate from the Education Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates or
    2. Have a full and unrestricted license to practice medicine in a US licensing jurisdiction
  4. Graduates of medical schools outside the United States who have completed a Fifth Pathway program provided by an LCME-accredited medical school.

Resident Selection

  1. Residents will be selected from among eligible applicants on the basis of their preparedness, ability, aptitude, academic credentials, communication skills, and personal qualities such as motivation and integrity. The Neurosurgery Residency Training Program at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital does not discriminate with regard to sex, race, age, religion, color, national origin, disability, or veteran status.
  2. The Neurosurgery Residency Training Program at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital participates in the San Francisco Matching Program.

All applicants will be interviewed in person. When evaluating the fitness of residents attempting to transfer from other educational programs (prior to completion of training offered in that discipline in that institution) the Program Director will speak directly with the referring program director or chairman (or relevant individual) to assess the educational qualifications and potential needs or deficiencies of the resident prior to accepting that resident. A final letter of recommendation must be obtained from the referring program director for all residents entering programs at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital after completing some phase of training in another institution.

Robert H. Rosenwasser, MD

Robert H. Rosenwasser, MD, MBA
Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery
Jewell L. Osterholm, MD Professor

Ashwini Sharan, MD

Ashwini Sharan, MD
Residency Program Director

Department of Neurological Surgery
909 Walnut Street
Clinical Office Building
3rd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 955-7000

Read More