Thomas Jefferson University

Division of Medical Physics Education


At Thomas Jefferson University, one of our three founding mission goals is to educate future physicians, nurses, scientists, and allied health professionals who will take a leadership role in the development of health care reform.  Our mission is achieved through shared values:

  • Excellence and innovation
  • Integrity and respect
  • Teamwork and communication

The Department of Radiation Oncology offers two dynamic and comprehensive residency programs. As a hospital-based service with a major academic role within the medical college, our department considers resident training its most important academic function.

The Medical Physics Residency program is directed toward providing a two year program of progressive supervised clinical training for graduates of medical physics, traditional physics and closely related fields. The objective of the residency program is to provide training in radiation oncology physics in a structured clinic environment for individuals wishing to practice professional radiation oncology physics. Faculty physicists provide instruction in all modes of radiation oncology physics: megavoltage photon-and electron-beam therapy, interstitial and intracavitary radioactive-source implantations, stereotactic radiosurgery and radiotherapy, intensity modulation radiation therapy and the diagnostic and therapeutic uses radioactive isotopes. For information on open positions, please check the AAPM website under the CAP program. Jefferson is a CAMPEP-accredited institution. 

Follow the links above for more information regarding a specific academic program.

Department of
Radiation Oncology

111 South 11th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Dr. Vinogradskiy

Letter from Yevgeniy Vinogradskiy, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Enterprise Vice Chair and Director, Division of Medical Physics

Karen Mooney, PhD

Karen Mooney, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Program Director, Division of Medical Physics Residency


Amy S. Harrison, PhD, FAAPM

Associate Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Enterprise Director, Quality and Safety

Associate Program Director, Medical Physics Residency

Firas Mourtada, PhD

Firas Mourtada, PhD

Adjunct Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology

Associate Residency Program Director, Christiana Care Health System


Paul Sullivan, PhD

Clinical Instructor, Radiation Oncology

Associate Residency Program Director, Jefferson Health - Asplundh Cancer Pavilion 

Read More