Thomas Jefferson University


The Jefferson Urology residency training program is a five year program that provides a well-rounded experience in all major disciplines of urology. Three residents are accepted each year through the AUA Match Program. Upon completion of the program, our trainees are equally well prepared to seek competitive fellowship training or enter private practice. The urology faculty consists of a core of general urologists and fellowship trained urologists who represent the full spectrum of urologic sub-specialties.

Thomas Jefferson University, set in historic Philadelphia, has a strong tradition in Urology.  Sidney Kimmel Medical College was founded in 1824 and has more living physician graduates than any other medical school in the country. The Department of Urology was founded in 1904, making it one of the oldest formal departments of Urology in the US and the oldest on the East Coast.  While many physicians were traditionally trained in “Genitourinary Surgery” in the early 1900's, the Urology residency training program was formally established at Jefferson in 1946 by Dr. D.M. Davis, one of the well-known figures in modern Urology. In 2004, we celebrated our centennial year with a variety of special events including the dedication of the “Jefferson Urology Museum”.