Thomas Jefferson University
News & Events

<< Back to News & Events List

Jefferson School of Pharmacy Faculty Member Gerald Meyer Elected ASHP President


Gerald Meyer, MBA, PharmD, FASHP, Director of Experiential Education at the Jefferson School of Pharmacy, Thomas Jefferson University, was elected president-elect of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) on Friday, August 31. He began his term as president-elect immediately and will take office in June. ASHP is the largest national organization of hospital and health-system pharmacists.

"ASHP and its members are committed to helping patients make the best use of their medications," says Dr. Meyer. "We envision a more efficient and effective healthcare system that takes full advantage of the unique knowledge and skills of each healthcare provider; integrates technological advances; and, most importantly, involves patients as members of their healthcare teams."        

Dr. Meyer recently completed his third term as chair of the ASHP House of Delegates, comprised of leading practitioners across the country, and the ASHP Board of Directors.

He is a past-president of both the Pennsylvania and Delaware Valley Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and he has received the Pharmacist of the Year Awards from both PSHP and DVSHP. He is integral to the coordination of the Eastern States Residency Conference and has received several awards recognizing teaching and precepting excellence.

Jefferson School of Pharmacy Dean Rebecca S. Finley, PharmD, MS, says, "Dr. Meyer's many professional leadership roles bring honor and distinction to JSP and his outstanding service to the profession sets an impressive example for our students and faculty. I am confident that ASHP will be well-served under his leadership."

For more information, contact Jane Clinton, 215-503-9865,