Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

News & Events

<< Back to News & Events List

Judging Panel Announced for the 2018 $100,000 Hearst Health Prize


NEW YORK AND PHILADELPHIA, June 26, 2017—Hearst Health, a division of Hearst, and the Jefferson College of Population Health of Thomas Jefferson University, today announced the panel of judges for the national 2018 Hearst Health Prize. The Hearst Health Prize is an annual $100,000 award given in recognition for outstanding achievement by an organization or individual in managing or improving health in the U.S.  In 2018, for the first time, up to two finalists will each receive $25,000.

The announcement was made by Gregory Dorn, MD, MPH, president of Hearst Health, and David B. Nash, MD, MBA, dean of the Jefferson College of Population Health. The nine judges for the 2018 Hearst Health Prize are:

  • A. Mark Fendrick, MD: A nationally recognized expert on value-based insurance design, Dr. Fendrick’s work focuses on connections between clinician payment, consumer engagement, access, quality and costs. He is the director of the Value-Based Insurance Design Center, a professor of internal medicine at the School of Medicine, and a professor of Health Management & Policy at the School for Public Health at the University of Michigan.

  • Tine Hansen-Turton, MGA, JD, FCPP, FAAN:  A public health executive with experience in health and human services senior management, executive leadership and consulting, Hansen-Turton has founded and led nationally recognized organizations and trade associations. She is president and CEO of Woods Services, the leading population healthcare organization serving children and adults with developmental disabilities.

  • H. Stephen Lieber, CAE: As president and chief executive officer of HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society), Lieber has established HIMSS as a leader on issues such as electronic health records, interoperability, technology standards, IT adoption and certification.

  • David B. Nash, MD, MBA: Named the founding dean of the Jefferson College of Population Health (formerly Jefferson School of Population Health) in 2008, Dr. Nash is a board certified internist who is internationally recognized for his work in public accountability for outcomes, physician leadership development and quality-of-care improvement.

  • Valinda Rutledge, MBA, MSN: A devoted proponent of quality improvement, innovation and accountability in healthcare delivery, Rutledge has held a variety of CEO positions within various hospitals and healthcare systems. Currently she serves as vice president of Public Payor Health Strategy in the Care Coordination Institute at Greenville Healthcare System. She previously led the Patient Care Model Group at Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (CMMI).

  • James M. Schibanoff, MD: A consultant to Hearst Health and former editor-in-chief of the Milliman Care Guidelines (now MCG) from 1998 until 2012, Dr. Schibanoff supervised editorial and peer review of care guidelines and analysis of the evidence used to inform their development. Prior to Milliman, he served as the CEO of Sharp Memorial Hospital in San Diego.

  • Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP: A nationally recognized health policy researcher and pediatrician, Dr. Simpson is president and CEO of AcademyHealth. Her areas of expertise include translating research into policy; quality and safety of healthcare; health and healthcare disparities; childhood obesity; and science policy.

  • Mark D. Smith, MD, MBA: Acclaimed for his experience in identifying and evaluating high-quality health programs and interventions, Dr. Smith was the founding president of the California HealthCare Foundation (CHCF) and former executive vice president of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. He is a professor of Clinical Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco and visiting professor at the School of Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley.

  • Gail R. Wilensky, PhD:  An economist and senior fellow at Project HOPE, Dr. Wilensky directed the Medicare and Medicaid programs and served in the White House as a senior adviser on health and welfare issues to President George H.W. Bush. She was also the first chair of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission. Her expertise is on strategies to reform health care, with particular emphasis on Medicare, comparative effectiveness research and military health care.

Full bios can be found at

“It is an honor to partner with these exceptional healthcare leaders to advance the science of population health,” Dorn said. ”This is the third year of the Hearst Health Prize and the work of the judging panel ensures we identify outstanding programs that improve health.”  

“My fellow judges and I have an exciting time ahead of us learning more about the population health programs across the country that are making an impact,” said Nash. “We look forward to leveraging the Hearst Health Prize to accelerate the adoption of best practices.”

The Hearst Health Prize is now accepting submissions from organizations and individuals who have demonstrated measurably-improved outcomes in managing the health of a population. The deadline is July 31, 2017. For full details about the Hearst Health Prize, including eligibility, submission criteria and application, and competition rules, please visit

The judges, in conjunction with faculty from the Jefferson College of Population Health, will evaluate applications based on the following criteria:

  • Population health impact or outcome, demonstrated by measurable improvement
  • Use of evidence-based interventions and best practices to improve the quality of care
  • Promotion of communication, collaboration and engagement
  • Scalability and sustainability
  • Innovation

Key Dates for the 2018 Hearst Health Prize:

  • July 31, 2017: Closing date for submissions at 3 pm ET/12 pm PT
  • January 2018:  Finalists notified
  • March 19, 2018: Finalists will present at a special poster session at the Population Health Colloquium in Philadelphia
  • March 20, 2018: Winner of the $100,000 Hearst Health Prize will be announced at the Population Health Colloquium, along with up to two finalists each receiving $25,000

For more information about the Hearst Health Prize visit: