Thomas Jefferson University
Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Department of Neuroscience

Make a Donation

Welcome to the
Department of Neuroscience


The Department of Neuroscience, established on January 1st, 2010, complements existing Jefferson research programs in many departments including those in the Department of Neurology and the Department of Neurological Surgery, and the Vickie and Jack Farber Institute for Neuroscience . The Department of Neuroscience faculty participate in the teaching of neuroscience to medical students, and play a prominent role in the training of graduate students through the Graduate Program in Neuroscience. Its faculty carry out fundamental research and train students and postdoctoral fellows in all areas of modern neuroscience ranging from cellular and molecular studies through to systems neuroscience and behavior.

Farber Institute

The institute unites all neuroscience domains to combine and collaborate translational and clinical research designed to understand fundamental mechanisms of the normal and diseased brain. Our specialists translate that understanding into treatments for neurodegenerative and other devastating disorders.

Irwin Levitan, PhD

Irwin Levitan, PhD
paul c. brucker Professor & Chair, Neuroscience
Director, Jefferson Institute of Molecular Medicine

Dr. Levitan is an internationally-recognized researcher and a professor and chair of the Department of Neuroscience.