PhD in Architecture & Design Research


College of Architecture & the Built Environment


Doctor of Philosophy


East Falls


Hybrid (Online and On Campus)




4 - 7 Years

Core Faculty

Options for concentrations/areas of inquiry reflect the broad ranging expertise of CABE faculty. Core Faculty serve as Primary Advisors.

Kihong R. Ku, DDes Associate Professor, Design Technology and Architectural Innovation, Adaptive Envelopes 215-951-2895

Edgar Stach, Dr. Dipl-Ing, AIA/IA Professor, High Performance Building Envelopes and Design, Smart and Healthy Cities 215-951-2518

Gulbin Ozcan-Deniz, PhD Chair & Associate Professor, Construction Management Programs 215-951-2914

Kimberlee Zamora, PhD Assistant Professor, Sustainable Construction, Waste Management

Suzanne Singletary, PhD Professor, History & Theory, Archival Research, Historic Preservation 215-951-2794

David M. Breiner, PhD Associate Professor, History and Theory, Archival Research, Vernacular Architecture, Historic Preservation 215-951-2505

Grace Ong Yan, PhD Assistant Professor, History & Theory, Archival Research, Modernism, Historic Preservation

Peng Du, PhD, LEED AP, WELL AP Assistant Professor
Director, Master of Urban Design – Future Cities (MUD)
Director, MS in Urban Analytics & Geodesign


CABE non-PhD faculty with strong research agendas serve as dissertation committee members or Co-Advisors subject to approval of the Doctoral Affairs Committee.

Barbara Klinkhammer, Dipl.-Ing PhD candidate/ABD Executive Dean of the College of Architecture and the Built Environment
Professor, Le Corbusier and Color Theory

Christopher Harnish Associate Professor, Technology, Social Design, Healthcare Design 215-951-0112

James L. Querry, MRP, RLA, ASLA Associate Professor, Geospatial Technology for Geodesign and Landscape Architecture 215-951-0437

Loukia Tsafoulia, MSAAD Assistant Professor, Architecture & Interior Design

Affiliated Faculty

Selected PhD faculty from outside the College of Architecture & the Built Environment but within Jefferson serve as dissertation committee members, subject to approval of the Doctoral Affairs Committee.