Post-Professional Occupational Therapy Doctorate, Online


  • College of Rehabilitation Sciences

Degree Earned

  • Doctorate

Program Length


Program Type

  • Online

2021 Highlights

2021 NBCOT Impact Award Winner

Jennifer Dodson, OTD, OTR/L, CHT (Class of 2021), received the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) Impact Award in 2021. This award is given to clinicians in recognition of their outstanding work.  The Impact Award demonstrates a practitioner's exceptional professional commitment through dedication, hard work, and outstanding OT skills to improve their clients’ overall life satisfaction. 

Dr. Dodson is a 2021 Jefferson College for Rehabilitation Sciences PP-OTD graduate specializing in hand therapy.

Alumni Appointed Dean in Tyler Junior College

Elizabeth Olivier, OTD, OTR/LPP-OTD Class of 2021 Jefferson PP-OTD alumni,  was appointed Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Sciences at Tyler Junior College in Tyler, Texas. Prior to this appointment, she served as program director for the Occupational Therapy Assistant Program.

How Jefferson's PP-OTD program prepared her for this role:
“An assignment in the Leadership course led me to the position that I have today [Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Sciences Tyler Junior College]. It gave me the opportunity to interact with my administrative structure differently and to have them see my leadership potential and the value of an OT perspective.”

2021 American Occupational Therapy Association’s Roster of Fellows

Claire Mulry, OTD, OTR, CAPS, FAOTA, a 2012 graduate of the Jefferson PP-OTD program, was awarded the American Occupational Therapy Association’s (AOTA) Roster of Fellows Award (FAOTA) in 2021.  This award is given to recognize occupational therapists who demonstrate their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy, and/or guidance and have made a significant contribution over time to the profession with a measured impact on consumers of occupational therapy services and/or members of the Association.

Faculty Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Mary Jane "MJ" Mulcahey, PhD, OTR/L, CPPC, CLCP, FASIA, for receiving the Thomas Jefferson University Award for Mentoring and the Estin Comarr Award from the Academy of Spinal Cord Injury Professionals for her Distinguished Clinical Service and contributions to improving the quality of life in persons with spinal cord injury. Dr. Mulcahey also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Spinal Injury Association for her years of work in the field of spinal cord injury.