Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine Residency


  • Center City Campus
  • Sidney Kimmel Medical College

Degree Earned

  • Residency

Program Length

4 years

Program Type

  • On Campus


Applicant Information

Call to Actions


  • Vice-Chairman, Education
  • Program Director,
Organization: Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine Residency Program
Position: Associate Director
Organization: Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine Residency Program
Position: Assistant Director
Organization: Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine Residency Program

Program Contact

Name: Myeshai Brooks

111 South Eleventh Street
Suite 8290
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Contact Number(s):

Training Program

The Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine Residency program at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital (TJUH) is an ACGME accredited four-year program. We currently maintain a class size of 15 residents per year in the CA1, CA2, CA3 years. Jefferson participates in the National Resident Matching Program® and accepts applications via the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®). Currently, we offer ten (10) Categorical positions for applicants wanting to complete their Internship at Jefferson. The remainder of the CA1 class is comprised of individuals who have completed an Internship elsewhere and matched into Advanced positions.

Residents are given the opportunity to develop clinical excellence in all areas of anesthesiology. They provide a major portion of the anesthetic care, including preoperative evaluation and postoperative follow-up, and routinely interact with members of all surgical and medical subspecialties.

Residents develop the expertise required to anesthetize a wide variety of patients safely, to manage pain and ICU patients, to successfully achieve certification by the American Board of Anesthesiology, and to function as true consultants in Anesthesiology. Research opportunities are available for those who wish to participate under the direction of established faculty mentors. Residents having abstracts accepted at national meetings have their registration and travel expenses sponsored by the department.