Fellowship in Endourology & Minimally Invasive Urologic Oncology

This Endourology Society Fellowship at Jefferson was established in 1996. Through 2022, 21 fellows have completed the training program. Fellows work with the physicians who specialize in advanced endourology and minimally invasive urologic oncology in the Department of Urology and the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center of Thomas Jefferson University. Dr. Scott Hubosky is responsible for the endourologic aspects of the training. Laparoscopy and minimally invasive urologic oncology are managed by Dr. Costas Lallas with the other urologic oncologists who work in the Department of Urology and the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center. The fellowship focuses on ureteroscopy, percutaneous nephroscopy, and laparoscopic/robotic reconstructive and oncologic procedures, including nephrectomy, partial nephrectomy, pyeloplasty, prostatectomy, cystectomy, and more advanced procedures. The Fellow attends the Multidisciplinary GU Oncology Clinic at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital.  They are expected to participate in weekly urology conferences and be involved in teaching residents and medical students.  There is a dedicated Endourology Suite at the University hospital with a wide range of endourologic equipment, and five daVinci Robots with dual consoles, including a single port (SP) system. The Fellow is expected to participate in research endeavors in the department, which includes writing abstracts and manuscripts, and presenting at major regional and national meetings. The fellow is appointed as an instructor at the Sidney Kimmel Medical College and has full attending privileges. The fellowship is a one-year program certified by the Endourology Society

This fellowship is a one-year program certified by the Endourological Society.

For all Endourology Fellowship inquiries, please contact: Debra Caridi, Executive Assistant. Endourological Society 4100 Duff Place, Lower Level, Seaford, NY 11783. Phone 516-520-1226


Rajiv Raghavan, MD - 2023-2024

Residency - Temple Unviersity

Past Urology Fellows

Daniel Simon, MD - 2022-2023

Practicing Urologist Providence RI

Aseem Malhotra, MD - 2021-2022

Residency: Temple Univeristy School of Medicine

Abhay Singh, MD - 2020-2021

Residency: Duke University Medical Center Current Position: St. Luke's Center for Urology Easton, Pennsylvania

Katherine Smentkowski, MD – 2019-2020

Residency: Eastern Virginia Medical School Current Position: Practicing Urologist, Chesapeake Urology, Maryland

Thenappan Chandrasekar, MD – 2018-2019

Residency: UC Davis Medical Center Current Position: Assistant Professor, Thomas Jefferson University, Pennsylvania

Daniel Verges, MD - 2016-2017

Residency: SUNY Downstate Medical Center Current Position: Practicing Urologist, St. Luke’s University Health Network, Pennsylvania

Rayuta Tanimoto, MD – 2013-2015

Residency: Okayama University Hospital Current Position: Practicing Urologist, Kagawa Prefectural Hospital, Japan

Sanjay Kasturi, MD – 2012-2013

Residency: Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Current Position: Practicing Urologist, New Jersey Urology, New Jersey

Nir Kleinmann, MD – 2011-2013

Residency: Sheba Medical Center, Tel-Hashomer Current Position:  Practicing Urologist, Sheba Medical Center, Israel

Kelly A. Healy, MD – 2010-2012

Residency: Emory University School of Medicine Current Position: Assistant Professor, Columbia University Irving Medical Center, New York

Arturo Colon-Herdman, MD – 2009-2010

Residency: University of Puerto Rico Current Position: Private Practice in San Juan, Puerto Rico