Biochemistry, Structural & Molecular Biology

College

College of Life Sciences

Degree

Doctor of Philosophy

Campus

Center City

Format

On Campus

Duration

4 - 5 Years

Current Students

2021/2022

Candice Bizzaro
Candice.Bizzaro@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Matthew Schiewer, PhD

Project: TBD


Annie Londregan
Anne.Londregan@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Scott Waldman, MD, PhD

Project: TBD


Brittany Mahon
Brittany.Mahon@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Christine Eischen, PhD

Project: TBD


Genevieve Lewis (MD/PhD)
Genevieve.Lewis@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Emad Alnermi, PhD

Project: My project aims to elucidate the role of WNK1 signaling in macrophage inflammasome activation, and how deregulation of this pathway leads to various inflammation-mediated pathologies.


Henri McGuigan
Henri.McGuigan@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Ya-Ming Hou, PhD

Project: TBD


Hailey Shankle
Hailey.Shankle@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Steven McMahon, PhD

Project: TBD


Viktoriia Sokolova
Viktoriia.Sokolova@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Dmitry Temiakov, PhD

Project: TBD


Adi Caspi
Adi.Caspi@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Scott Waldman, MD, PhD

Project: I study the guanylyl cyclase C (GCC) signaling axis in the context of colorectal cancer. 


Melanie Goetz
Melanie.Goetz@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Sara Meyer, PhD

Project: Studying the role of p300 in epigenetic mutant acute myeloid leukemia (AML)


Andrew Isopi
Andrew.Isopi@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Holly Ramage, PhD

Project: Andrew is researching innate immune signaling and functional proteomics during Flavivirus infection. 


Lily Thompson
Lily.Thompson@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Elise Fouquerel, PhD

Project: My project involves investigating the effect of oxidative stress at the centromere and how this contributes to chromosomal instability.


Jenny Carey
Jenny.Carey@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Lin Guo, PhD

Project: My project focuses on studying protein phase separation of ALS-associated protein FUS and developing RNAs to reverse aberrant phase transition.


Justin Gumas
Justin.Gumas@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Yohei Kirino, PhD

Project: Identification and functional characterization of angiogenin-induced 2’,3’-cyclic phosphate-containing RNAs in the context of ALS


Karl Herbine
Karl.Herbine@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Dmitry Temiakov, PhD

Project: The purpose of my thesis project is to understand the underlying molecular mechanisms of transcription initiation and processive elongation in human mitochondria using structural methods.


Natalie Laspata
Natalie.Warner@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Elise Fouquerel, PhD

Project: I study the role of DNA repair proteins in the maintenance of telomere integrity and genome stability.


Hannah Hoag Lee
Hannah.Hoag@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Elda Grabocka, PhD

Project: I am currently researching the mechanisms and consequences of stress granules in the microenvironment of pancreatic cancer.  Specifically, I am examining how stress granules promote the activation of a particular phenotype of cancer-associated fibroblasts.


Ruoyu Yang
Ruoyu.Yang@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Gino Cingolani, PhD

Project: Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) is a prevalent pathogen, but how it enters the nucleus remains unknown. My project is to test if HBV capsid shuttles through nuclear pore via classical nucleo-cytoplasmic transport.


Gina Buchel
Gina.Buchel@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Dmitry Temiakov, PhD

Project: Studying the molecular mechanisms underlying human mitochondrial transcription and replication using biochemical and structural approaches.


Victoria Frisbie
Victoria.Frisbie@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Erik Debler, PhD

Project: My project focuses on two methyltransferases essential to T. brucei’s survival and their recognition of Tb canonical and variant nucleosomes as substrates. To define this interaction, I use structural biochemistry techniques, such as enzymatic assays, x-ray footprinting, x-ray crystallography, and cryo-electron microscopy.


Mason Tracewell
Mason.Tracewell@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Steven McMahon, PhD

Project: Investigating the mechanism behind USP22's impact on activator-driven transcription


Qingqing Cao
Qingqing.Cao@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Andrew South, PhD

Project: ECM protein secretory defects when Type VII collagen is aberrant in RDEB dermal fibroblasts


2022/2023

Benjamin Barnhart
Laboratory of Rajanikanth Vadigepalli, PhD
Now:  Translational Research Solutions Scientist, Tempus Labs, Inc.

 

Steven Doll
Laboratory of Gino Cingolani, PhD
Now: TBD

 

Hannah Schapiro
Laboratory of Michael Root, MD, PhD
Now: Teaching Assistant Professor, Thomas Jefferson University

 

2021/2022

Emanuela Dylgjeri
Laboratory of Karen Knudsen, PhD
Now: Oncology Scientific Communications PhD Fellow, Janssen Scientific Affairs LLC. Part of Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical

 

Marina Farkas
Laboratory of Steven McMahon, PhD
Now: Postdoctoral Researcher, Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute

 

Tyler Florio
Laboratory of Gino Cingolani, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

 

Michael Ippolito
Laboratory of Jeffrey Benovic, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, Temple University

 

Dominic Lapadula
Laboratory of Jeffrey Benovic, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, Thomas Jefferson University

 

Amy Mandigo
Laboratory of Karen Knudsen, PhD
Now: Associate Scientist, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals

 

Lindsey Mayes-Hopfinger
Laboratory of Emad Alnemri, PhD
Now: Senior Scientist, Melior Discovery

 

Alison Moss
Laboratory of Rajanikanth Vadigepalli, PhD
Now: Computational Biologist, Rajant Health Inc.

 

Austin Parrish
Laboratory of Rajanikanth Vadigepalli, PhD
Now: Associate Data Scientist, RxDataScience

 

Azadeh Sarfallah
Laboratory of Dmitry Temiakov, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Pennsylvania

 

Sarah Sulon
Laboratory of Jeffrey Benovic, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Pennsylvania

 

Nicholas Swanson
Laboratory of Gino Cingolani, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Associate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

 

Halley Washburn
Laboratory of Matthew Dalva, PhD
Now: Post-Doctoral Fellow, Thomas Jefferson University

 

2020/2021

Samantha Brown
Laboratory of Jonathan Brody, PhD
Now: Research Scientist, Code Biotherapeutics

 

Mai Nguyen
Laboratory of Andrew Aplin, PhD
Now: Oncology Scientist/Medical Writer, National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®)

 

Sheera Rosenbaum
Laboratory of Andrew Aplin, PhD
Now: Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Colorado Denver Anschutz Medical Campus