Immunology & Microbial Pathogenesis

Contact Information

Program Director

Name: Fabienne Paumet, PhD
Positions:
  • Co-Director, Immunology & Microbial Pathogenesis PhD Program
  • Associate Professor
Position: Department of Microbiology & Immunology

233 S. Tenth Street
Bluemle Life Sciences Building, Room 750
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Contact Number(s):

Program Director

Name: Christopher Snyder, PhD
Positions:
  • Co-Director, Immunology & Microbial Pathogenesis PhD Program
  • Associate Professor
Position: Department of Microbiology & Immunology

233 S. 10th Street, 730 BLSB
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Contact Number(s):

Program Coordinator

Name: Danielle Park
Department: Jefferson College of Life Sciences

1020 Locust Street
M-46 JAH
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Contact Admissions

Contact Number(s):

Connect with Us

       

Current Students

Trevor Baybutt
Trevor.Baybutt@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Adam Snook, PhD

Project: Colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of cancer-related death in the United States. My project focuses on understanding how chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cell immunotherapy can be implemented to treat metastatic colorectal cancer using patient-derived models.


Nathalia Benavides
Nathalia.Benavides@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Claudio Giraudo, PhD

Project: The synaptic membrane is highly dynamic and upon immune synapse polarization requires rapid replenishment as well as regulation of necessary lipids for continuous signaling. I am interested in characterizing the role of Extended-Synaptotagmins in human cytotoxic T lymphocytes during the immunological synapse formation.

 


Juliana Benitez
Juliana.Benitez@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: TBD

Project: TBD


Miao Cao
Miao.Cao@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Adam Snook, PhD

Project: TBD


Jihae Choi
Jihae.Choi@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: TBD

Project: TBD


Vincent Cooper
Vincent.Cooper@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: TBD

Project: TBD


Jacqueline Flynn
Jaqueline.Flynn@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: TBD

Project: TBD


Adam Haines
Adam.Haines@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Fabienne Paumet, PhD

Project: The eukaryotic cytoskeleton is an incredibly dynamic system that is vital to the proper function of the cell, and has subsequently become a common target for many pathogenic bacteria. Chlamydia trachomatis, the most frequently reported sexually transmitted disease, manipulates the host cytoskeleton to enhance its survival and pathogenicity. I am studying the molecular machinery that Chlamydia utilizes to reorganize the cytoskeleton in an attempt to better understand its complex survival strategies.


Christopher Herbst
Christopher.Herbst@students.jefferson.edu

LaboratoryBotond Igyártó, PhD 

Project: TBD


Zachary Hutchins
Zachary.Hutchins@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Christopher Snyder, PhD

Project: TBD


Daniel Hwang
Daniel.Hwang@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Abdolmohamad Rostami, MD, PhD

Project: Myeloid cells are the most prevalent cell type found in active lesions in the brains of multiple sclerosis patients. My research interests are in understanding how myeloid cells mediate pathology in multiple sclerosis and developing methods for targeting them in a clinical setting. 


Samita Kafle
Samita.Kafle@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Luis Sigal, PhD

Project: TBD


Saul Kushinsky (MD/PhD)
Saul.Kushinsky@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Christine Eischen, PhD

Project: I am focusing on understanding the contributions of the DNA replication stress response to hematopoiesis and the effects of different replication stressors on developing hematopoietic cells.


Christine Linton
Christine.Linton@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Fabienne Paumet, PhD

Project: Chlamydia trachomatis is an obligate intracellular pathogen responsible for significant disease burden as a sexually transmitted infection and as the leading cause of infectious blindness.  This bacterial pathogen survives inside its host cell, causing dramatic cellular rearrangements to establish an inclusion in which to grow, replicate, and evade host immune detection. My project focuses on a chlamydial fusion protein involved in inclusion dynamics and the functional consequences of inclusion fusion on pathogenesis.


Jessica McCord
Jessica.McCord@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Christopher Snyder, PhD

Project: TBD


Shannon Mcgettigan
Shannon.Mcgettigan@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Gudrun Debes, PhD

Project: IL-10 producing B cells are important in regulating the immune response in autoimmune diseases and cancers, but the signals that control their development are not well understood. I am studying the mechanisms through which IL-10 positive B cells are generated and maintained.


Brian Montoya
Brian.Montoya@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Luis Sigal, PhD

Project: TBD

 


Daniel Netting
Daniel.Netting@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Adriana Mantegazza, PhD

Project: TBD


Gerald O'Connor
Gerald.O'Connor@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Sangwon Kim, PhD

Project: TBD


Mary O'Mara
Mary.O'Mara@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: TBD

Project: TBD


Sergey Panteleev
Sergey.Panteleev@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Yuri Sykulev, PhD

Project: TBD


Shantel Rios
Shantel.Rios@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Matthias Schnell, PhD 

Project: My project aids in the development of Rhabdoviral-based Lyme disease vaccines utilizing Borrelia burgdorferi and deer tick antigens.


Nathan Ryan
Nathan.Ryan@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: David Abraham, PhD

Project: Onchocerciasis is a debilitating neglected tropical disease caused by the filarial nematode Onchocerca volvulus. Over the past several years, the Abraham Lab and various collaborators have developed a bivalent, recombinant antigen vaccine that has been shown to induce a protective immune response in various animal models. My project aims to understand the mechanism in which the Onchocerca Vaccine induces protective immunity and how this knowledge can be applied to understanding the broader interaction between the immune system and parasitic nematodes.


Gabrielle (Gabby) Scher
Gabrielle.Scher@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Matthias Schnell, PhD

Project: I'm developing Rhabdoviral-based vaccines against Crimean-Congo Hemorrhagic Fever Virus and investigating the immune responses elicited by my vaccine.


Carly Smith
Carly.Smith@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Theresa Freeman, PhD

Project: TBD


Lauren Springer
Lauren.Springer@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Christopher Snyder, PhD

Project: Cytomegalovirus (CMV) establishes lifelong infection through viral latency and persistence in mucosal tissues, but the mechanisms are not well understood. I am investigating the role of specialized pro-resolving lipid mediators, which modulate tissue homeostasis, on CMV persistence in mucosal tissue, particularly focusing on the nasal mucosa. 


Zachary Walter
Zachary.Walter@students.jefferson.edu

Laboratory: Holly Ramage, PhD

Project: TBD


Catherine Yankowski
Catherine.Yankowski@students.jefferson.edu   

Laboratory: Matthias Schnell, PhD

Project: I am investigating the correlates of protection to a Rabies virus-based Ebola vaccine.

2022/2023

John Flickinger (MD/PhD)

Thesis Title: “Guanylyl Cyclase C Vaccines for Secondary Prevention of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer”

Advisor: Adam Snook, PhD

Current Position: MD/PhD 8, JeffMD Phase 3, SKMC 4

2021/2022

Gabriela Cosma

Thesis Title: “Protein trafficking and unchaperoned translation during a viral infection determine antigen processing outcomes for MHC class I direct presentation”

Advisor: Laurence Eisenlohr, PhD

Current Position: TBD

2021/2022

Christine Fisher

Thesis Title: “Development and characterization of a broadly protective lyssavirus vaccine”

Advisor: Matthias Schnell, PhD

Current Position: Draper Laboratory, Senior Biologist, Synthetic Biology


Colby Stotesbury

Thesis Title: “Defects of the Innate Immune System Contribute to Age-related Susceptibility to Mousepox”

Advisor: Luis Sigal, PhD

Current Position: Investigator, GlaxoSmithKline, Innate Immune Research Unity