Quality & Safety Initiatives

Improvement Committee

Lawrence D. Ward, MD, MPH, FACP
Chair, Department of Medicine Quality & Safety Initiatives

Dr. Lawrence Ward leads the Department of Medicine’s Quality Improvement (QI) Committee, comprised of representatives from every division with expertise and interest in continuous quality improvement. The committee provides participants with a forum for sharing QI projects, learning QI methodology from each other, and brainstorming solutions to shared challenges. Committee members collaborate to address the Department’s dimensions of quality, including safety, effectiveness and efficiency, as well as patient-centered, equitable and timely care.

The goal of the committee is to develop division-based dashboards attributable down to the level of individual physicians. The data from these will then be utilized in order to initiate performance improvement projects using interdisciplinary working groups in practices and in the hospital. Involvement of house staff and fellows is encouraged and seen as instrumental in their education.

Gastroenterology: Jorge Prieto, MD

Infectious Diseases: Lisa Spacek, MD

Medical Education / Residency: Jason Ojeda MD and Alexis Wickersham MD 

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital: Jenny Wang, MD

Endocrinology: Eric Shiffrin, MD

Hematology: Reuben Rhoades, MD and Sanaa Rizk, MD

Internal Medicine: Bracken Babula, MD and Edgar Chou, MD

Rheumatology: Giorgios Loizidis, MD

Nephrology: Yasmin Brahmbhatt, MD

Pulmonary: David Oxman, MD and Jessica Most, MD

College of Population Health: Emmy Stup, MPH