Neuromuscular Neurology Fellowship

The Neuromuscular Neurology Fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital offers a one-year ACGME-approved clinical program offering broad exposure to all aspects of neuromuscular disorders. 

Under the leadership of Prof. Marinos Dalakas, Jefferson Neuromuscular Center has an established regional, national and international recognition in autoimmune neuromuscular diseases such as Myasthenia gravis, GBS/CIDP, Inclusion body myositis, Stiff Person syndrome, and various complex neuromuscular disorders. The program is centered on acquiring broad clinical experience, which includes a fellow continuity clinic as well as an opportunity to observe and participate in a multidisciplinary ALS clinic at Jefferson Weinberg ALS Center. In addition to mastering clinical and electrophysiological diagnosis, fellow will be thought and expected to learn muscle and nerve histopathology, genetic testing of neuromuscular disorders, and to perform a skin biopsy and neuromuscular ultrasound. There is an opportunity for a fellow to learn special electrodiagnostic studies such as Single Fiber EMG. A month of elective time at DuPont Children Hospital for pediatric neuromuscular medicine or other elective rotation can be arranged for specific academic interests.

There is a strong emphasis on clinical research and teaching from diverse faculty with the depth of expertise on a one-to-one basis. This fellowship is designed for candidates with a desire and capacity to pursue academic careers. After completion, a graduate will be eligible for both the ABPN neuromuscular medicine subspecialty board and electrodiagnostic medicine board certifications.


Fellow will have educational and clinical rotations primarily in outpatient setting without night and weekend calls at Jefferson Center City campus. The program offers a robust didactics with protected academic time of one work day per week. Neuromuscular curriculum includes weekly lecture series covering main neuromuscular and electrophysiology topics, as well as hands-on teaching and practicing electrodiagnostic skills in the EMG lab. It also includes a monthly EMG group review sessions, a monthly journal club, research meetings, and fellow-led presentations and teaching of neurology residents and medical students. Neuromuscular fellow will obtain experience in clinical trials, and is expected to present research at regional, national and international meetings, and publish in respected journals. Fellow will have dedicated time for clinical research and personalized elective rotation, including one-month at A/I. DuPont Hospital for pediatric neuromuscular medicine. In addition to weekly Jefferson Neurology Grand Rounds, Neurology M & M (held quarterly), special guest lecture series arranged thought the year, fellow will have the opportunity to attend additional external fellow-specific training sessions at regional and national neurology and neuromuscular meetings.

Research Experience

Neuromuscular fellows have robust research opportunities under faculty guidance on a variety of topics including Myasthenia Gravis, ALS, amyloidosis, peripheral neuropathy. 

How to Apply

We are participating in the Neuromuscular fellowship application timeline in conjunction with the AANEM. We start reviewing applications in January and start interviewing in March of the given academic year.  The AANEM Online Portal opens on January 1st. Considering travel restrictions related to COVID-19, interviews will be performed virtually.


Our Faculty