Honor Society


Name: Jefferson College of Nursing
Department: Office of Admissions
Contact Number(s):

History of Sigma Theta Tau

Founded in 1922, Sigma Theta Tau is an international nursing honor society comprised of over 200,000 members in over 346 chapters. The name Sigma Theta Tau identifies the society's commitment to love (Storga), courage (Tharos) and honor (Tima). Our members represent the best in the profession, and collectively we shape the future of professional nursing throughout the world.

As a collective of nurse leaders, Sigma Theta Tau International is a dynamic force that actively promotes scholarship, inquiry, leadership and quality in nursing practice, nursing education, and nursing research.

Founded in 1980, the Delta Rho chapter is celebrating 27 years of scholarship, research and leadership. Delta Rho was granted the International Key Award for chapter excellence in 1995, 1997 and 2001. Our first Newsletter Award was recognized for Special Edition Excellence.

Delta Rho Chapter Board Members

Valerie Clary-Muronda

Vice President
Anne Mitchell

Shawana Moore

Julia Ward

Faculty Counselor
David Jack
Mary Bouchaud

Research/Scholarship Chair
Julia Ward

Leadership Succession
Jane Tobias, Chair
Laura Roettger
Melissa Fernandez

Jacquelyn O'Rourke-Fulford, Chair
Anite Fennessey
Jeannette Kates

Philanthropic Chair
Kathryn Shaffer